Location: Course Tools > Dropbox > Grade Dropbox Items

Grade Dropbox Items

The Dropbox makes it easy to grade assignments and return the graded work to students. In fact, you can open and grade assignments from the Dropbox without having to go to the Gradebook.

The submissions you review from students might contain information, comments the student entered at the time the assignment was submitted, and any attachments or files part of the assignment itself. You can open and view attachments from your Inbox. You can also add comments and enter grades from the Grade Details View (Gradebook Details) window.

(null)Design tips:

Explain the Grade Details View (Gradebook Details) window

Use the Gradebook Details window in Dropbox to add comments, assign grades, and return grades to students. The grades you assign are saved to your Gradebook. To open the Gradebook Details window, go to your inbox and click the student's name.

Field Description
Numeric Grade Type a numeric grade for the submission. This field only displays if you have identified the content item as gradable in your Gradebook.
Letter Grade Type a letter grade for the submission. This field only displays if you have identified the content item as gradable in your Gradebook.
Weighted Average Displays the weighted average for the submitted assignment based on the values entered in the Gradebook.
Return to student upon closing (Selected by default) Saves the grade and returns the assignment to the student. In this case, the grade is saved and the assignment is returned to the student (that is, the assignment moves from your inbox to your outbox and the student is able to see the assignment in his or her inbox.) Leave this check box selected if you want students to receive their graded assignment after you close the Gradebook Details window; otherwise, clear the check box.
Visual Editor Type any comments, suggestions, etc. that you might have about the student's submission. For example, you might want to include why you assigned the grade you did, or you might direct the student to areas for additional study.
Add/Remove Click to attach a file to your review and return it to the student.

Save

Saves the grade without returning the assignment to the student.

Save and Next

Saves the grade and opens the next student assignment.

Please note, the Save and Next button cycles through inbox items until there are no more items to be graded. Once the last item in your inbox is graded, the Save and Next button is disabled.

Save and Close

Saves the grade and closes the Gradebook Details window.

Cancel

Closes the Gradebook Details window without saving any of your changes.

Details Displays the name of the student who submitted the assignment, the date and time the assignment was submitted, whether there are attachments with the submission, and any comments or notes the student might have entered for you. You can view attachments here by clicking on the attachment icon. Note that you can only view the file; you cannot make changes or comments within the attachment. You can, however, attach a file to your response in the Gradebook Details window. You can also click Remove to delete the submission.

To assign grades:

Current items not marked as gradable display NA in the Number/Letter Grade columns of your Dropbox and do not display Number/Letter Grade fields in the Gradebook Details window.

  1. On the Tools menu, click Dropbox.

  2. In the Name column, click the basket you want to open.

  3. On the Inbox tab, either:

  4. Click Save Changes.

     

To assign grades to multiple students:

  1. On the Tools menu, click Dropbox.
  2. In the Name column, click the basket you want to open.
  3. On the Inbox tab, click the student's name to open the Gradebook Details window and enter information accordingly.
  4. Click Save and Next. The grade is saved in your Gradebook, but the assignment remains in your inbox and is not shared with the student.
  5. Continue to grade additional assignments in the same way, clicking Save and Next. The Save and Next button cycles through inbox items until there are no more items left to grade. Once the last item is graded, the Save and Next button is disabled.
  6. When you are ready to return all the assignments to your students, click Save and Close to return to your inbox.

To return graded assignments:

  1. On the Tools menu, click Dropbox.
  2. In the Name column, click the basket you want to open.
  3. On the Inbox tab, either:
  4. Click Save Changes. The assignment is returned to the student's inbox and moves to your outbox.

Related Topics Link IconRelated Topics